• Welcome to the website of the French Institute of South Africa!

  • Bienvenue sur le site de l'Institut Français d'Afrique du Sud !

Naledi Theatre Awards 2018: the nominees revealed

Tartuffe team Naledi Awards 2018 lowres


Nominations for the 14th Annual Naledi Theatre Awards were announced at the Market Theatre in Newtown, Joburg, on the 14th of May. 

The 2017-year was a very busy one for theatre, with an extraordinary amount of new talent, works and sheer entertainment on display. Here are the Nominations for theatre productions staged in 2017. Moliere's Tartuffe,  was nominated in several categories !

The awards ceremony will take place on June 18.


Best Costume Design

Birrie le Roux – King Kong

Birrie le Roux – West Side Story

Marcel Meyer – Hamlet

Sasha Ehlers – Moliere's Tartuffe

Pierre du Plessis – The Mystery of Irma Vep


Best Ensemble

The Play that Goes Wrong

Vir Ander

The System

Moliere's Tartuffe



Best Supporting Actress in a Play

Khutjo Green – Moliere's Tartuffe

Esmaralda Bihl – Karel se Oupa

Sive Gubangxa – The Play That Goes Wrong

Camilla Waldman – Moliere's Tartuffe

Taryn Bennett – The Old Man and the Sea


Best Director of a Play

Lesedi Job – When Swallows Cry

Sylvaine Strike – Moliere's Tartuffe

Lara Foot – The Inconvenience of Wings

Lara Bye – Die Reuk van Appels

Andre Odendaal – Karel se Oupa


Best Performance in a Play: Female

Ameera Patel – Tamasha on Hope Street

Jennifer Steyn – The Inconvenience of Wings

Carly Graeme – Betrayal

Chi Mhende – Chasing Chairs

Masasa Lindiwe Mbangeni – The Suitcase

Vanessa Cooke – Moliere's Tartuffe


 Best Performance in a Play: Male

Andrew Buckland – The Inconvenience of Wings

Graham Hopkins – Freud's Last Session

Mpho Osei-Tutu – When Swallows Cry

Craig Morris – Moliere's Tartuffe

Lindani Nkosi – Tamasha on Hope Street

Warren Masemola – When Swallows Cry

Christiaan Schoombie – When Swallows Cry


Best Production of a Play

When Swallows Cry

The Inconvenience of Wings

Tamasha on Hope Street

Die Reuk van Appels

Moliere's Tartuffe

The Suitcase


Best Theatre Set Design

Conor Murphy – West Side Story

Paul Wills – King Kong

Nadine MInnaar and Louis Minnaar – Calling Me Home

Nadine MInnaar and Louis Minnaar – The Mystery of Irma Vep

Fred Abrahamse – Hamlet


Best Lighting Design

Mandla Mtshali – When Swallows Cry

Joshua Cutts – West Side Story

Tim Mitchell – King Kong

Darron Araujo and Guy de Lancey – Dead Yellow Sands

Wilhelm Disbergen – Tamasha on Hope Street


Best Sound Design or Sound Scape

Gladman Balintulo – Sarafina

Mark Malherbe – King Kong

Mark Malherbe – West Side Story

Wessel Odendaal – The Mystery of Irma Vep

Steve Clarke – The Old Man and the Sea


Best Production for Children: Aged up to 12

Cloud Catcher

Cradle under the Shade

Rat Race

Seussical's Christmas Carol

Taking Flight

The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe


Best Production for Young Audiences: Aged 13 – 17

A Short Cut to a Short Life





Best Performance in a Production for Young Audiences: Aged 13 – 17

Chr4istopher van der Westhuizen – Onderwêreld

Jacques de Silva – Taking Flight

Kgaogelo Monana – A Short Cut to a Short Life

Nieke Lombard – Cloud Catcher

Tebogo Machaba – Taking Flight

Yamikani Mahaka-Phiri – Beneath African Skies


Best Newcomer / Breakthrough

Noxolo Dlamini – Sarafina

Ian Roelofs – Karel se Oupa

Phillip Schnetler – Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Kanyi Nokwe – Pinocchio: The Ultimate Pantomime Adventure

Isabella Jane – Evita


Best Original Choreography for a Play, Musical or Revue

Louisa Talbot – West Side Story

Gregory Maqoma and Richard Lothian – King Kong

Nompumelelo Gumede – Sarafina

Weslee Lauder – Rock of Ages

Bafikile Sidibe – Sophiatown


Best Original Score / Arrangement / Musical Adaptation

Mbongeni Ngema – Sarafina

Todd Matshikiza and Charl-Johan Lingenfelder – King Kong

Matthew MacFarlane – Tamasha on Hope Street

Alice Gillham – Calling Me Home

Sabelo Mavuso – Itsoseng


Best Musical Director

Eddie Mathiba – Sarafina

Charl-Johan Lingenfelder – West Side Story

Louis Zurnamer – Evita

Charl-Johan Lingenfelder and Sipumzo Trueman Lucwaba – King Kong

Bryan Schimmel – Priscilla, Queen of the Desert


Best Supporting Actor in a Play

Mncedisi Shabangu – The Inconvenience of Wings

Roberto Pombo – The Play that Goes Wrong

Katlego Letsholonyana – Itsoseng

Afzal Kahn – Tamasha on Hope Street

John Lata – The Suitcase


Best Director of a Musical / Revue

Matthew Wild – West Side Story

Jonathan Munby and Mdu Kweyama – King Kong

Mbongeni Ngema – Sarafina

Elizma Badenhorst – Rock Of Ages


Best Supporting / Featured Performance in a Musical / Revue: Female

Valephi Mnisi – Sarafina

Bianca le Grange – West Side Story

Lerato Mvelase – King Kong

Ntambo Rapatla – King Kong

Chantal Herman – Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Isabella Jane – Evita


Best Supporting / Featured Performance in a Musical / Revue: Male

Dumisani Mtshali – Sarafina

Sanda Shandu – King Kong

Schoeman Smit – Rock of Ages

Mark Tatham – Pinocchio: The Ultimate Pantomime Adventure

Grant Towers – Pinocchio: The Ultimate Pantomime Adventure


Best Lead Performance in a Musical / Revue: Female

Noxolo Dlamini – Sarafina

Lynelle Kenned – West Side Story

Nondumiso Tembe – King Kong

Emma Kingston – Evita

Claire Taylor – Rock of Ages


Best Lead Performance in a Musical / Revue: Male

Andile Gumbi – King Kong

David Dennis – Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

Jonathan Roxmouth – Evita

Sne Dladla – King Kong

Phillip Schnetler – Priscilla, Queen of the Desert 


Best Performance in a Solo Production

Lebohang Toko – The Man Jesus

Graham Weir – Dead Yellow Sands

Gideon Lombard – Die Reuk van Appels

Sello Maake kaNcube – The House of Truth

Jemma Kahn – In Bocca al Lupo


Best New South African Script

When Swallows Cry – Mike van Graan

The Inconvenience of Wings – Lara Foot

Tamasha on Hope Street – Rajsh Gopie

Die Reuk van Appels – Johann Smith

Karel se Oupa – Retief Scholtz


Best Production of a Musical

King Kong

West Side Story


Priscilla, Queen of the Desert



Moliere's Tartuffe was in association with the French Institute of South Africa (IFAS), and the Alliance Française in South Africa and with the support of Total South Africa, BNP Paris / RCS Group (a BNP Paribas group company), and Mazars and was performed by the Fortune Cookie Theatre Company.

Moliere's Tartuffe toured in 2017 in South Africa in Soweto, Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg and Grahamstown.

Arts & Culture - Events & News

  • 2020-FDLM-call-FB

    Call for application 2020 - Fête de la Musique

    To all the singers, musicians and music lovers out there, the moment you were all waiting for has finally arrived! The call for applications for the 2020 Fête De La Musique Joburg is officially open! If your dream is to perform on a stage in front of thousands of adoring fans, then this could be… Read more
  • 2020-NdI-mailchimp3
    Events & News

    The Night of Ideas 2020

    ABOUT THE NIGHT OF IDEAS A night of debate to share and express our ideas The Night of Ideas is a global initiative from the French Institute in Paris that will bring a diverse group of voices together to discuss a contemporary issue. This year, the event will be held on 30 January 2020 under the… Read more
  • 2019-SoChef-FB-general
    Events & News

    So Chef! 2019 - A taste of France in South Africa

    So Chef! 2019 - A Taste of France in South Africa05 - 20 October 2019 Your favorite culinary rendez-vous with some of the crème de la crème of France's top chefs is back in South Africa and Lesotho this October. Four talented French chefs are flying in to bring a taste of France to your demanding… Read more

Follow us:


Join the Culture Newsletter


Tel. (+27) 11 403 0458
Fax. (+27) 11 403 0465